Ralph H. Kelley Humanitarian Award

 The Ralph H. Kelley Humanitarian Award

The award is to be given to that member of the legal profession or judicial officer who in the opinion of the Board of Governors has displayed exemplary service to the community of Chattanooga by civic, professional and/or other activities directed toward improvement and preservation of the lives, property and dignity of its citizens.  A committee has been appointed by President Joseph R. White  to make the selection. 
            Criteria for the award includes: member in good standing of the Chattanooga Bar Association or a Judicial Officer; a minimum of 15 years tenure in the Chattanooga legal community; and recognized community service with emphasis on social service of both public and charitable nature, as set forth in the resolution establishing the award.  Nominations are solicited from the members of the Chattanooga legal community as well as the community at large.

             1993   Hon. Clarence Shatuck 

             1994   Robert Kirk Walker
1995   John C. Stophel 
1996   Albert L. Hodge
1997   T. Maxfield Bahner
1998   Raymond R. Murphy
1999   Thomas A Caldwell
2000   Hon Robert M. Summitt
2001   Scott N. Brown
2002   Charles Gearhiser
2003   Hon. Samuel H. Payne
2004   William L. Taylor, Jr.
2005   Kenneth Still
2006   Virginia Anne Sharber
2007   W. Ferber Tracy

                2008   Jeffrey M. Atherton

                2009   Jerry Summers

            2010   Richard W. Buhrman

            2011   Hugh J. Moore, Jr.

            2012   Marcia J. Eason

            2013   Michael N. St.Charles








Chattanooga Bar Association | The Pioneer Building | Suite 420 | 801 Broad Street | Chattanooga, TN 37402
CBA Telephone: 423-756-3222 | FAX: 423-265-6602