Liberty Bell Award

Chattanooga Bar Association

Each year, the Chattanooga Bar Association honors an outstanding citizen in the Chattanooga area with the Liberty Bell Award” for public service.  Nominations are currently being solicited for the 2012 award, to be presented during the Law Day Luncheon. This year’s event will be held in May.  All nominations should be sent in by April 20, 2012 to: Lynda Minks Hood, Executive Director, Chattanooga Bar Association, The Pioneer Building, Suite 420, 801 Broad Street Chattanooga, TN 37402. 

The purpose of the Liberty Bell Award” is to recognize community service that has strengthened the America system of freedom under law.  In selecting the recipient of this award, the Chattanooga Bar Association considers such service as including activities which (1) promotes better understanding of our Constitution and the Bill of Rights; (2) encourage a greater respect for the law and the courts; (3) stimulates a deeper sense of individual responsibility so that citizens recognize their duties as well as their rights; (4) contribute to the effective functioning of our institutions of government; and (5) foster a better understanding and appreciation of the rule of law.  This prestigious award, presented annually by the Chattanooga Bar Association, will be selected from nominations received by the awards judges.  Lawyers and judges are not eligible for the award; however, all other fields of endeavor are intended for the inclusion, namely education, business, sciences, communications, labor, government, religion, professions and youth organizations.



                                                              1964 *William O. Hubbuch
                                                              1965 *William E. Brock, Jr. 

                                                              1966 *Raymond R. Murphy, Sr.

                                                              1967 Rev. John H. Bonner, Jr.

                                                              1968 Mr. Lee S. Anderson

                                                              1969 *Dr. James L. Fowle

                                                              1970 *Dr. C.C. Bond  
                                                              1971 *Co. Creed F. Bates 

                                                              1972 *Dr. Jesse E. Adams 

                                                              1973 *Dr. J. Fred Johnson, Sr. 

                                                              1974 *Roy C. Noel, Sr. 

                                                              1975 Mrs. Margaret Cooper 

                                                              1976 *Dr. Spencer J. McCallie Jr. 

                                                              1977 Dr. Lee S. Roberson 

                                                              1978 *Joseph H. Davenport, Jr. 

                                                              1979 *Gordon P. Street, Sr. 

                                                              1980 Ms Mai Bell Hurley 

                                                              1981 none chosen 

                                                              1982 Luther Masingill 

                                                              1983 *Morris J. Slutsky 

                                                              1984 *Carey Hanlin 

                                                              1985 Joseph F. Decosimo 

                                                              1986 *Colonel Roger Ingvalson 

                                                              1987 *John Popham 

                                                              1988 *Sam McConnell 

                                                              1989 Sarah Faires /Alfred Law Jr. 

                                                              1990 Ruth Holmberg 

                                                              1992 Rabbi Ken Kantor

                                                              1993 *Anne Dixson 

                                                              1994 Paul J. Kinser 

                                                              1995 Martha McCarley 

                                                              1996 Dr. Dennis L. Bizzoco 

                                                              1997 Charlotte B. Boatwright 

                                                              1998 Rev. Paul A. McDaniel 

                                                              1999 Linda Mines 

                                                              2000 Vernon W. Cox 

                                                              2001 *Flo Summitt 

                                                              2002 Harold L. Coker 

                                                              2003 Judith Medearis 

                                                              2004 James Mapp 

                                                              2005 Robert Oliver 

                                                              2006 Julie Baumgardner 

                                                              2007 Paul Neely

                                                              2008 Bill Markham

                                                              2009 C. Wayne Keylon

                                                              2010 Skipper Fairbanks

                                                              2011 Claude Ramsey

                                                              2012 Dr. Michael V. Woodward

                                                                     * Deceased

Nomination Form

Click Here to Download Form for Submission to the CBA Office  


Printable Version | Email this Page | Bookmark | Normal font


Chattanooga Bar Association | The Pioneer Building | Suite 420 | 801 Broad Street | Chattanooga, TN 37402
CBA Telephone: 423-756-3222 | FAX: 423-265-6602